Blog on the Run: Reloaded

Thursday, June 17, 2010 8:27 pm

Quote of the day

Filed under: Quote Of The Day — Lex @ 8:27 pm
Tags:

Fecund Stench: “Whatever success I’ve had over the years has actually been the result of what opps I’ve declined, rather than those I’ve accepted. One bad client can ruin your life.”

The small PR agency I once worked for once took a client like that. We ended up having to sue to get the last three months’ worth of the retainer the client contracted to pay, and that’s only a small part of the trouble they put us through.

As a freelancer, I’ve been very lucky: All my clients have paid eventually. Most have paid promptly, including the ones who were paying kill fees, of which I’ve had to take a blessedly low two in 30 years. I’ve never had to sue a client, nor been so much as threatened with a suit in return. Part of the reason is that I generally charge less than I’m worth, but I know better than to think that this extended string of good fortune stems from any discernment skills on my part with respect to for whom I agree to freelance.

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks. It’s tough out there. I haven’t had a lot of trouble collecting, but I have been embroiled in a couple of ill-considered enterprises. I also try to keep an eye on value. In my biz, before you’ve gone down the road very far, both sides agree as to the efficacy of the relationship. Also, I’ve never done a job on spec. It may be the greatest idea in the world, but I just wanna get paid. And estimates are a waste of time except for small projects. The customer never seems to know what they really want.

    Comment by Fec — Thursday, June 17, 2010 10:04 pm @ 10:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,299 other followers

