Blog on the Run: Reloaded

Friday, May 14, 2010 8:39 pm

2nd Quote of the day …

Filed under: I want my country back. — Lex @ 8:39 pm
Tags: ,

also from Cole, buttslapping a bunch of his own (normally supportive) commenters:

… let me state on the record I think [Anwar al-Awlaki] is scum. But he is American scum, and he has rights. …

Some of you say “I’m ok with it if it is done legally.” You know what else was deemed legal- the torture you screamed about for the last eight years. The law in Arizona that you all abhor is “legal.” Segregation was “legal.” The reason you all had a sad face because Dawn Johnsen was not confirmed was because [of] what the OLC and the last administration did to sanitize the morally indefensible and call it “legal.”

If al-Awlaki is killed as a result of a military mission, I won’t lose any sleep. If he is killed in the process of trying to apprehend him, I won’t lose any sleep. If he were to drop dead of a stroke this very minute, I would not lose any sleep.

But I’ll be god damned if I’m going to pretend it is ok to start ordering the assassination of American citizens, even if it is done “legally” and ordered by politicians I generally like. This really is not a tough call at all.

No, it isn’t. And if this is in fact what’s going on, then Barack H. Obama and George W. Bush should be sharing a paddy wagon to The Hague.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

