Blog on the Run: Reloaded

Wednesday, May 11, 2011 8:51 pm

Seeing spots

Filed under: Fun — Lex @ 8:51 pm
Tags:

I’ve watched a little network TV recently, which I almost never do. Consequently, I also watch TV commercials. I can’t even remember most of them, but I’ve seen three recently that made various impressions on me.

  • The Axe body wash gel spot: I suspect this spot is very, very effective at reaching its target audience. Its target audience, however, is douches.
  • The Oreo fudge-creme spot: Clever. Seriously. Love the wordplay. Tiniest flaw in the execution, though: If you’re going to say “Shut the front door!” as a stand-in for “Shut the (expletive) up!” then you need to have it kind of all run downhill from “shut,” rather than going back up a little en route from “the” to “front.” This flaw is partly remedied by the fact that I’m pretty sure the mom in the spot has said “Hel-LO, sir” in that same way many times before, and that the object she was saying it to wasn’t a cookie.
  • Claire Danes’s spot for prescription eyelash-grower. I thought she was good in “My So-Called Life” when she was a teenager, and she has turned out to be a very pleasant-looking grownup. That said, prescription eyelash-grower? I don’t want to hear another word from anyone in pharma about government regulation. Not a peep. Y’all just shut the front door.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

