Blog on the Run: Reloaded

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 6:53 pm

Whack-a-mole

Filed under: I want my money back. — Lex @ 6:53 pm
Tags: ,

I’m poking my head up from underground only briefly. It’s been a month: The busiest time of year at work, my own projects and term papers to turn in, and then comprehensive exams in my master’s program, on which I only got official notification of my final grade Sunday. I still have a capstone project to finish by December, and we’re redesigning the website at work. So: though there’s plenty I’d like to say about tornadoes, Benghazi, the IRS and wiretapping, much of it critical of the government, no blogging from me.

But I did stumble across a nice quote I wanted to share on joblessness, the most serious threat facing this country besides climate change. It comes from the low-tech cyclist at Cogitamus:

The problem is, the ability to create widespread abundance doesn’t mean abundance will actually be widespread.  Right now, in the U.S.A. of 2013, we could have an economy where everybody’s working, and where we’re producing a lot more stuff than we are now.  But we’re not in that alternate reality, because many see the economy as a morality play where we’ve got to suffer for our previous (and largely imagined) excesses, and other movers and shakers are simply dead set against a world where people have better choices than to do their bidding.  Many of the people who run our world are quite happy for our economy to run at well under peak efficiency, so long as it puts them and their interests in the driver’s seat.

It’s time to take back the wheel.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

