Blog on the Run: Reloaded

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 8:55 pm

Another free-market fundamentalist admits he was wrong.

Filed under: Geek-related issues — Lex @ 8:55 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Fortunately it was only about the Internet, not anything really important.

Advertisements

Thursday, September 22, 2011 9:30 pm

The wisdom of crowds and the U.S. Postal Service

Filed under: Cool! — Lex @ 9:30 pm
Tags: , , ,

People are complaining about the fact that the Postal Service loses money and is an Internet Age anachronism, even though the Constitution requires that the government provide, you know, postal service. Hmmm. What to do …

Elevated from Balloon Juice’s comments section:

Commentor MikeJ, via Cole’s earlier Netflix post:

Hmmm. Congress complaining that the Post Office isn’t a profit centre, even though it’s mandated in the constitution. Not enough broadband available. PO losing customers because nobody except junk mailers use it any more.

I say let the USPS lay fibre to the curb and [forget]  Comcast.

To which commentor Omnes Omnibus replied:

Win. Jobs… Broadband access… Constitutional mandate (arguably wrt this)… Screwing over cable companies… Yeah, I like it.

And commentor Judas Escargot added:

One could make an argument that fiber/copper fits the definition-in-spirit of a ‘Post Road.’

Hmmm. I particularly like the “[forget] Comcast” part.

UPDATE: Edited for clarity.

Wednesday, April 14, 2010 7:55 pm

Your legislature: Stifling competition, hampering growth, sticking you with slow Internet

To: Daniel.Clodfelter@ncleg.net, Dan.Blue@ncleg.net, Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net, Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net, David.Hoyle@ncleg.net, Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net, Josh.Stein@ncleg.net, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net, Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net, Harold.Brubaker@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, Pryor.Gibson@ncleg.net, Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net, Julia.Howard@ncleg.net, Danny.McComas@ncleg.net, William.McGee@ncleg.net, William.Wainwright@ncleg.net, Jennifer.Weiss@ncleg.net

Subject: I oppose any moratorium on deployment of high-speed Internet service by local governments

Dear Members of the N.C. Revenue Laws Study Committee:

As a free-market conservative, I write to demand that you vote against any bill that would impose a moratorium on installation of high-speed Internet service by local government. Legacy carriers are trying to get you to impose such a moratorium to reduce competitive pressure, but we need MORE competitive pressure, not less. The U.S. network is already inferior to that of many other nations. Creating impediments to the improvement of the network by any sector — for-profit, nonprofit or governmental — would place us at even more of a competitive disadvantage as a nation. It also would make it harder for North Carolina entrepreneurs, freelancers and small business people to innovate and compete.

Moreover, no matter which sector carries out this work, the work will create jobs. With North Carolina’s unemployment rate currently at 11.2%, any stifling of job creation, particularly for anticompetitive reasons, is utterly unacceptable.

I urge you in the strongest possible terms to oppose any hampering of competition in this critical arena of our national infrastructure. And I will be watching all of you to see what you do.

Love,

Lex

(h/t: Jay Ovittore)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: